Prohibition is ratified by the states – 1919

See the source image

The 18th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, prohibiting the “manufacture, sale, or transportation of intoxicating liquors for beverage purposes,” is ratified by the requisite number of states on January 16, 1919.

The movement for the prohibition of alcohol began in the early 19th century, when Americans concerned about the adverse effects of drinking began forming temperance societies. By the late 19th century, these groups had become a powerful political force, campaigning on the state level and calling for total national abstinence. In December 1917, the 18th Amendment, also known as the Prohibition Amendment, was passed by Congress and sent to the states for ratification.

go to for the complete article

Citation Information

Article Title

Prohibition is ratified by the states Editors

Website Name



Access Date

January 16, 2022


A&E Television Networks

Last Updated

January 12, 2022

Original Published Date