Do you know her story
Do you know her story
** Beginning October 1, 2021, every air traveler 18 years of age and older will need a REAL ID-compliant driver’s license, state-issued enhanced driver’s license, or another acceptable form of ID to fly within the United States. Check for the star. REAL ID-compliant cards are marked with a star at the top of the card.
** Employment Standards message: 2021 salary thresholds set for overtime exempt employees
Washington’s overtime employment rules have changed.
The Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) has updated the employment rules that determine which workers in Washington are required by law to be paid at least minimum wage, earn overtime pay, and receive paid sick leave and other protections under the state Minimum Wage Act. These changes affect executive, administrative, and professional (EAP) workers as well as outside salespeople and computer professionals across all industries in Washington.
Changes to these rules mean some employers might have to provide overtime, minimum wage, and paid sick leave to some employees who were previously treated as exempt. In other cases, employers may need to increase salaries for exempt employees.
The computer professional’s exemption was added in 1997, but these are the first major changes to the state’s rules since 1976.
** One of the biggest laws affecting Washingtonians is a pay bump. Starting Jan. 1, the state’s minimum wage will tick up from $13.50 an hour to $13.69, according to the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.
** Starting New Year’s Day, employers can’t deny work to a care provider when a background check reveals child abuse or neglect on their record if that person has obtained a certificate of parental improvement. The law covers providing licenses to early childhood educators as well.
** House Bill 2188 was passed to address the hundreds of thousands military veterans in Washington who had civilian occupations while in the service. Many veterans developed skills driving commercial-style vehicles but can’t translate that directly to a job in the true civilian world without going through redundant training and tests. To drive a bus or commercial truck in Washington, a commercial driver’s license is needed. Military veterans had been able to waive the skills examination and instruction courses, but still had to take a knowledge test, to get a CDL. The new bill expands the waiver program, removing the knowledge test for those who qualify starting Jan. 21.The bill said it would allow veterans to apply for jobs quickly, taking away the advantage those who were trained in the private sector had. The bill passed unanimously in the House and with one vote against it in the Senate
** Olympia, WA – The State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) wishes to remind residents of the rules for legal discharge of fireworks as we head into the New Year’s Holiday.
Per RCW 70.77.395, fireworks may now be legally purchased through Thursday, December 31, and only between the hours of 12:00pm and 11:00pm.
Fireworks may only be discharged from Thursday, December 31 at 6:00pm to Friday, January 1 at 1:00am.
|Statewide Sales and Discharge Period Allowed by RCW 70.77.395|
|Date||Sales Period||Discharge Period|
|December 27 to December 30||12:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.||No Discharge|
|December 31||12:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.||6:00 p.m. to 12:00 a.m. midnight|
|January 1||No Sales||12:00 a.m. midnight to 1:00 a.m.|
A number of cities and counties have restricted or banned the sale and discharge of fireworks. Other counties have modified the type of fireworks that can be purchased. Always be sure to check with your local jurisdiction before purchasing or discharging fireworks.