2020 Re-Election bids …

Republicans in re-election bids
Lamar Alexander (R-Tennessee)
Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia)
Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana)
Susan Collins (R-Maine)
John Cornyn (R-Texas)
Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas)
Steve Daines (R-Montana)
Mike Enzi (R-Wyoming)
Joni Ernst (R-Iowa)
Cory Gardner (R-Colorado)
Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina)
Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi) — Hyde-Smith was appointed by Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant to fill the seat vacated by Sen. Thad Cochran who resigned due to health issues. She competed in the 2018 special election to fill the term. CNN projects the race will go to a runoff. Hyde-Smith will compete against Democratic challenger Mike Espy since no candidate received 50% of the vote total. The contest will take place on Tuesday, November 27. A full six-year term election will be held in 2020.
James Inhofe (R-Oklahoma)
Jon Kyl (R-Arizona) — It is expected that there will be an open special election in 2020 for the seat because Kyl has said he will not run in 2020. A full six-year term election will take place in 2022.
Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky)
David Perdue (R-GA)
Jim Risch (R-Idaho)
Pat Roberts (R-Kansas)
Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota)
Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska)
Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)
Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina)

Democrats who will need your help
Cory Booker (D-New Jersey)
Chris Coons (D-Delaware)
Dick Durbin (D-Illinois)
Doug Jones (D-Alabama)
Ed Markey (D-Massachusetts)
Jeff Merkley (D-Oregon)
Gary Peters (D-Michigan)
Jack Reed (D-Rhode Island)
Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Tina Smith (D-Minnesota) — Smith was appointed by Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton to fill the vacancy created after Sen. Al Franken decided to resign. She faced a special election in 2018 and CNN projected that Smith defeated her Republican challenger in that race. A full six-year term election will be held for the seat in 2020.

Tom Udall (D-New Mexico)
Mark Warner (D-Virginia)

CNN’s Adam Levy contributed to this report.










1867 – U.S. President Andrew Johnson sparked a move to impeach him when he defied Congress by suspending Secretary of War Edwin M. Stanton.

Image result for President Andrew Johnson

According to the History Channel, President Andrew Johnson attempted to fire Secretary of War Edwin Stanton on multiple occasions because Stanton opposed Johnson’s more lenient attitude toward the South during Reconstruction. Johnson wanted to readmit states from the Confederacy without any guarantees of civil rights for the freed slaves, and Stanton strongly opposed this policy and favored much harsher treatment of the former rebellious states.

In 1867, President Johnson decided that Stanton’s opposition was crippling his presidency, so he attempted to remove Stanton from office. Stanton refused to leave, claiming that the Tenure of Office Act prevented his removal. In 1868, Johnson suspended him and appointed Ulysses S. Grant as his replacement, but the Senate overruled President Johnson and Stanton continued in his position. Johnson tried a third time to remove him from office, appointing General Lorenzo Thomas as a replacement, but Congress again backed Stanton.

Radical Republican forces in Congress began an impeachment trial against Johnson over his continued attacks on Stanton, but they were unable to gather enough votes in the Senate to remove the president from office. In the end, Edwin Stanton resigned his post on May 26, 1868. Stanton was eventually appointed to the Supreme Court by Ulysses S. Grant in 1869, but he died before he could take office.

resource: reference.com

Demand a powerful plan for the future of struggling salmon ~Sierra Club

User-added image

This week brought tragedy for Pacific Northwest wildlife. Three Southern Resident Killer Whales were declared dead, leaving this tiny population with only 73 whales.

Our orca are starving, and salmon returns to the Snake and Columbia Rivers this year are only 1/3 of the ten year average. We need bold action to protect our waters and the wildlife who depend on them. The significant problems we’re facing won’t be solved by the weak, disappointing Fish and Wildlife Plan being offered by the Northwest Power and Conservation Council (NWPCC).

The NWPCC provides direction to the Bonneville Power Administration, which markets the power from our dams. Every five years they update their plan to protect our fish and wildlife from the damage our dams inflict upon them. So far, NWPCC’s Fish and Wildlife plans have fallen way short — now is the time to demand a new vision with bold, comprehensive action. Our salmon are running out of time, and the orca that need chinook salmon from these rivers are running out of time as well — we can’t wait!

Tell the NWPCC to abandon this weak approach and make the strongest plan for our precious waters, salmon, and orca! Send in your comment today!

Sierro Club